Voter Registration

In Minnesota, you must meet the following requirements to register and vote:

  • Be at least 18 years of age on Election Day;
  • Be a United States citizen; and have resided in Minnesota for 20 days immediately preceding Election Day;
  • Not be under guardianship of a person;
  • Not be found by a court to be legally incompetent to vote; or
  • Not been convicted of a felony without having your civil rights restored.

In addition, anytime you move or change your name, you will need to re-register to vote. You can re-register or pre-register to vote up to 21 days prior to an election. Pre-registering will save you time at the polling place on Election Day. 

You may pre-register by:

If you are interested in finding out whether or not you are registered to vote and the information is correct, you may check for voter registration status here.

Election Day Registration

Everyone who registers on Election Day or by Absentee Ballot must provide proof of residence, which may be found by clicking on Election Day Registration. Only proofs authorized by law may be used. A voter is allowed to leave and come back with their proof of residence in order to register. (M.S.201.061; M.R.8200.5100).